CfP - WS 'Standardising the IoT and its Applications'

Call for Papers
Workshop 'Standardising the IoT and its Applications' (SITA)

In conjunction with
FiCloud 2016 - The 4th International Conference on
Future Internet of Things and Cloud

22/23/24 August 2016, Vienna, Austria

Objective of the Workshop
The IoT will provide the communication infrastructure for a host of new fields of applications, including e.g. Smart Cities, Smart Grid, Intelligent Transport Systems and, perhaps most generally, Cyber-Physical Systems. These applications are likely to influence our lives to a degree previously unheard of. The associated required levels of security, privacy and trust, along with the highly multi-disciplinary nature of these applications and their respective functional requirements represents considerable challenges for the underlying standardisation process. This workshop will discuss these challenges and how the standardisation environment may live up to them.

Topics Covered (this is a non-exclusive list)
-  Support of multi-disciplinary standardisation;
-  New ways of co-operation between standards bodies;
-  Potential new standardisation landscapes;
-  Adequate stakeholder participation;
-  'Privacy by design' and standardisation;
-  Societal issues;
-  Regulatory aspects.
Submission Guidelines
Original (unpublished) papers not exceeding 6 pages (preferred) or extended abstracts of 2 pages are solicited. A paper template and associated instructions may be found at
All papers will undergo a double blind peer-review process. Accepted papers will be included in the workshop proceedings. (Extended versions of) particularly good and relevant papers will be considered for inclusion in the International Journal on IT Standards and Standardization Research (JITSR).
All submissions (in .doc/.docx/.rtf/ format) should be sent to:

Submissions due:          1 May 2016
Notification:        1 June 2016
Final papers due:       20 June 2106

Programme Committee
Kai Jakobs (Chair), RWTH Aachen U., DE
Martin Adolph, ITU-T, CH
Knut Blind, TU Berlin, DE & RSM, NL
Tineke Egyedi , DIRoS, NL
Vladislav Fomin, Vytautas Magnus U., LT
Stephan Gauch, TU Berlin, DE
Ian Graham, U. of Edinburgh, UK (tbc)
Patrick Guillemin, ETSI, FR
Henk de Vries, Erasmus U., NL (tbc)