7 de abril de 2017

Lakatos Award: call for nominations

The London School of Economics and Political Science invites nominations for the 2018 Lakatos Award.

The Lakatos Award is given annually for an outstanding contribution to the philosophy of science, widely interpreted, in the form of a book published in English.  For the 2018 award, books with an imprint from 2012 to 2017 (inclusive) are eligible.

The Award, in memory of the former LSE professor Imre Lakatos, was made possible by a generous endowment from the Latsis Foundation.  It is administered by an international Management Committee organised from the LSE, but entirely independent of LSE’s Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method.  The Committee, currently chaired by Hasok Chang (University of Cambridge), decides the outcome of the competition on the advice of an international, independent and anonymous panel of Selectors who produce detailed reports on the shortlisted books.

For the 2018 award, nominations must be received by Monday 2 October 2017.  Nominations may be made by any persons of recognised standing within the philosophy of science or an allied profession.  Self-nominations are not allowed.  Before a nomination is submitted, permission should be sought from the author(s) of the nominated book.  The Management Committee itself is not empowered to nominate books.

The Management Committee would like to apologise for the delay in the processing of recent awards.  Winners of the 2015 and the 2016 awards will be announced soon.  The 2017 competition will not take place.

For further details, see: