CfP - Models and Simulations 8, March 15-17 2018, University of South Carolina

The Department of Philosophy in collaboration with the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and the USC Nanocenter are hosting the 8th Models and Simulations conference (MS8) at Columbia, South Carolina. This continues a successful series of meetings focusing on the role of modeling, simulation, and computational methods in the natural and social sciences, in engineering and technology. Earlier meetings have taken place in Paris (2006), Tilburg (2007), Virginia (2009), Toronto (2010), Helsinki (2012), Notre Dame (2014), and Barcelona (2016).

Plenary speakers include:
- Mieke Boon (University of Twente)
- Michela Massimi (University of Edinburgh)
- Michael Weisberg (University of Pennsylvania)

Papers and symposium proposals (3-4 participants) on any aspect of modeling and simulation are welcome. While our core constituency will be philosophers, historians, and sociologists of science, we especially encourage submissions from practicing scientists and engineers. Interdisciplinarity both as regards topics and authors is especially encouraged when developing symposium proposals.

Possible topics related to modeling and simulation include:

-  The epistemic tools of modeling and simulation
-  The epistemic and practical strategies of modeling
-  The use of models in designing and applying technologies
-  Scientific representations and scientific fictions
-  The role of models and simulations for explanation and understanding
-  Model-based reasoning
-  Prediction, evidence and confirmation
-  Models and simulations as interdisciplinary objects and practices
-  Experimental and heuristic use of models
-  The ethical, economical, and social aspects of models and simulations.

We will also arrange special symposia dedicated to problems of models and simulation in engineering, chemistry, particle physics, and statistics, including social dimensions of using simulation models.

Abstract submission

Please submit abstracts of 100 words and extended abstracts of 800-1000 words through the EasyChair. Make sure that the abstract is prepared for blind review.

The deadline for submission is 15 September 2017, and the notification of acceptance will be in mid-November 2017.

To submit, please prepare a PDF file of your extended abstract, and follow this link:

If you do not already have an EasyChair account, you need to create one on entering the site. When logged in, click on the new submission link. Include your 100 words abstract and upload the PDF file of your extended abstract. You will be able to revise your submission any number of times before the deadline.

Registration, travel, accommodation, further information: all conference-related information will be posted on the MS8 website:

Local organizing committee
Tarja Knuuttila (Philosophy)
Michael Stoeltzner (Philosophy)
Michael Dickson (Philosophy)
Robert Mullen (Civil and Environmental Engineering)
Thomas Vogt (Chemistry and USC Nanocenter)
Brandon Boesch (Conference Secretary)

Program committee
Julia Bursten (University of Kentucky)
Alejandro Cassini (University of Buenos Aires)
Anjan Chakravartty (University of Notre Dame)
Melinda Fagan (University of Utah)
Catherine Herfeld (University of Zurich)
Paul Humphreys (University of Virginia)
Johannes Lenhard (University of Bielefeld)
Sabina Leonelli (University of Exeter)
Arnon Levy (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Martina Merz (Alpen-Adria University Klagenfurt)
Teru Miyake (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
Mary Morgan (London School of Economics)
Uskali Mäki (University of Helsinki)
Angela Potochnik (University of Cincinnati)
Mauricio Suárez, (Complutense University, Madrid)

Charlotte Werndl (University of Saltzburg)