CfP: 17th Congress on Logic, Methodology and Philosophy of Science and Technology (CLMPST)

University of Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Argentina, 24-29 July 2023

Submission deadline: 15 December 2022

The International Congress on Logic, Methodology and Philosophy of Science and Technology (CLMPST) is organized every four years under the auspices of the Division of Logic, Methodology and Philosophy of Science and Technology of the International Union of History and Philosophy of Science and Technology (DLMPST/IUHPST). The 2023 edition will take place in Buenos Aires. The theme of the Congress is “Science and Values in an Uncertain World”.

CLMPST 2023 will host three plenary lectures, delivered by Philip Kitcher (Columbia University, USA), Helen Longino (Stanford University, USA), and Itala d’Ottaviano (University of Campinas, Brazil), and over twenty invited lectures. Confirmed invited speakers include María Caamaño (University of Valladolid, Spain), Matteo Colombo (University of Tilburg, The Netherlands), David Danks (University of California at San Diego, USA), Yasuo Deguchi (Kyoto University, Japan), John Dupré (University of Exeter, UK), Catarina Dutilh Novaes (Vrije University Amsterdam, The Netherlands), Juliet Floyd (Boston University, USA), Maya Goldenberg (University of Guelph, Canada), Erich Grädel (RWTH Aachen University, Germany), Décio Krause (Universidade Federal Santa Catarina, Brazil), Fenrong Liu (Tsinghua University, China), Paolo Mancosu (University of California at Berkeley, USA), Alfredo Marcos (University of Valladolid, Spain), Nikolaj J. L. L. Pedersen (Yonsei University, South Korea), Elaine Pimentel (Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil, and University College London, U.K), Anya Plutynski (Washington University, USA), Paula Quinon (Warsaw University of Technology, Poland), Giuseppe Rosolini (University of Genova, Italy), Federica Russo (Universiteit van Amsterdam, The Netherlands), Daniel Steel (University of British Columbia, Canada), Josefa Toribio (Universitat de Barcelona, Spain), Peter Vickers (Durham University, U.K), and Sylvia Wenmackers and Leander Vignero (University of Leuven, Belgium). Further invited speakers will be announced soon.

CLMPST 2023 calls for contributed papers and contributed symposia in 20 thematic sections:

A. Logic
A.1 Mathematical Logic
A.2 Philosophical Logic
A.3 Computational Logic and Applications of Logic
A.4 Historical Aspects of Logic

B. General Philosophy of Science
B.1 Methodology
B.2 Formal Philosophy of Science and Formal Epistemology
B.3 Empirical and Experimental Philosophy of Science
B.4 Metaphysical Issues in the Philosophy of Science
B.5 Ethical, Social and Political Issues in the Philosophy of Science
B.6 Historical Aspects in the Philosophy of Science
B.7 Educational Aspects of Philosophy of Science

C. Philosophical Issues of Particular Disciplines
C.1 Philosophy of the Formal Sciences (including Logic, Mathematics,
C.2 Philosophy of the Physical Sciences (including Physics, Chemistry,
Earth Science, Climate Science)
C.3. Philosophy of the Biological Sciences
C.4 Philosophy of the Biomedical and Health Sciences
C.5 Philosophy of the Cognitive and Behavioural Sciences
C.6. Philosophy of Computing and Computation
C.7 Philosophy of the Humanities and the Social Sciences
C.8 Philosophy of the Applied Sciences and Technology
C.9 Philosophy of Emerging and Interdisciplinary Sciences

The language of the Congress is English.

Contributed papers
Submissions will be made through the EasyChair platform, at
Please submit an abstract of 500 words, including the references, prepared for anonymous review. Indicate to which congress section you submit the paper (tick the appropriate box).
The allocated time for each contributed paper is 30 minutes, including discussion.

Contributed symposia

Symposia are groups of talks on a common theme. Each symposium consists of four to twelve papers.

In EasyChair – – please make a submission for (a) the symposium as a whole; and (b) each paper in the symposium (so, for example, for a four-paper symposium, you should make a total of five submissions).

(a) For the symposium as a whole, please provide an abstract with a general description of the format and the topic of the proposed symposium and its significance (up to 500 words), and suggest a symposium chair. Indicate to which congress section you submit the symposium (tick the appropriate box). After the abstract, please list the titles of the talks in the order they should appear at the conference. Please provide the symposium with an acronym, and write this acronym at the beginning of the title of the symposium (<Symposium acronym>: <Title of symposium>). The acronym will be used by the Programme Committee to keep the individual submissions in a proposal together during reviewing and when creating the conference programme.
(b) For each paper within a symposium, please submit a 500-word abstract (including references). Indicate to which congress section the symposium belongs (tick the appropriate box). Please write the acronym of the symposium at the beginning of the title of the talk (<Symposium acronym>; <Title of the individual talk>). The acronym will be used by the Programme Committee to keep the individual submissions in a proposal together during reviewing and when creating the conference program.
Note to symposium organisers: papers intended to be presented as parts of a symposium must be submitted by their respective authors. Symposium organisers should contact all symposium speakers in advance and make sure that they submit their abstracts by the submission deadline of 15 December 2022. The symposium description is submitted by the symposium organiser by the same deadline. Please make sure that all parts of the submission are prepared for anonymous review and submitted to the same congress section (the same box is ticked in all of them). When submitting a symposium proposal, the EasyChair requires you to take the role of a “speaker“. This is for formal reasons only, and in no way precludes you from submitting a paper of your own (to that same symposium, to a different symposium, or a contributed paper). In this case, you will appear as a “speaker“ on 2 submissions, one of which must be the symposium proposal.

Although the exact format of symposia is up to the symposium organizers, the allocated time for each symposium paper is 30 minutes. For instance, a symposium with 4 speakers is a 2 hour session (4 x 30 minutes). Note that if a symposium consists of more than 4 speakers, it might be split into two sessions due to coffee breaks in the programme.

Rules for multiple presentations

(a) Every corresponding author is allowed to submit only one individual or symposium paper as a “speaker”. (Organising a symposium does not count as being a “speaker”, despite the labelling in EasyChair.)
(b) Authors are permitted to be listed as non-corresponding co-authors of additional papers.
(c) The corresponding author of each paper as well as the organiser of a symposium must be registered as a participant at the Congress and present the paper in Buenos Aires.
All questions about submissions should be directed to the Congress Secretaries, Prof. Federico Pailos and Prof. Luis Urtubey, at

The members of the Programme Committee are listed here:

For the Congress fees and the deadlines for early bird registrations, please visit

Important dates:
December 15, 2022 Deadline for abstract submissions
March 2023 Notifications of acceptance
March 2023 Congress registration opens
April 30, 2023 Deadline for early bird registrations
July 1, 2023 No more refunds for registration cancellations
July 24-29, 2023 17th CLMPST, University of Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires

Atocha Aliseda (Chair of the Programme Committee)
Pierre-Edouard Bour (Treasurer of the DLMPST/IUHPST)
Eleonora Cresto (Chair of the Local Organizing Committee)