CfP: &HPS9, Integrated History and Philosophy of Science, March 16-18, 2023, University of South Carolina

Integrated History and Philosophy of Science, 9th conference (&HPS9), University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC, March 16-18, 2023.

Keynote speakers: Alisa Bokulich (Boston University) and Gregory Radick (Leeds)

The Committee for Integrated History and Philosophy of Science, together with the Ann Johnson Institute for Science, Technology, and Society, invites the submission of individual paper and poster abstracts for “&HPS9”, the 9th conference in the series Integrated History and Philosophy of Science. We seek contributions that genuinely integrate the historical and philosophical analysis of science (i.e., the physical sciences, life sciences, cognitive sciences, and social sciences), discuss methodological issues surrounding the prospects and challenges of integrating history and philosophy of science.

For information about Integrated History and Philosophy of Science and previous conferences, see

Please note that &HPS9 does not run parallel sessions. Hence, given the number of slots available, we regret that we cannot accept symposium submissions.

&HPS9 will feature a Poster Forum as a place to share work that fits in a poster format. Poster presenters will be invited to give a short (5-minute) flash talk on their topic. Authors may submit a poster and a paper abstract, but only one may appear on the final program.

We have an ongoing commitment to fostering diversity and equality in our programs. Submissions from members of underrepresented groups are particularly welcome!

Abstracts should be submitted via EasyChair, where further instructions are available:

Deadline for submission of paper and poster abstracts: August 1st, 2022

Notification date: October 7th, 2022

Some funds to assist with the cost of travel and accommodation will be available for those who are presenting work at &HPS9 and do not have other institutional or personal funds to draw from.

Please direct any inquiries to Agnes Bolinska, Michael Stoeltzner, or Lydia Patton.