CfP: Lakatos @ 100: A Celebration of the Centenary of his Birth and the Continuing Influence his Philosophy

London School of Economics and Political Science (United Kingdom). 3-4 November 2022 

This conference will celebrate the life and work of Imre Lakatos – a central figure in the history of LSE Philosophy and a major influence on philosophy of science and philosophy of mathematics worldwide – on the centenary of his birth. 


The keynote speakers of the conference are: 


- Colin Elman (Syracuse University) 

- Philip Kitcher (Columbia University) 

- Alan Musgrave (Otago University) 

- Alison Pease (University of Dundee) 

- Anya Plutynski (Washington University in St. Louis) 

- John Worrall (LSE) 


Information about the conference can be found on the conference’s website: 


The Programme Committee invites submissions from philosophers and scientists from all fields that engage with the work and thinking of Imre Lakatos, or with Lakatosian themes more broadly construed.  


Submissions should consist of an extended abstract of a maximum of 1000 words (including footnotes but excluding references).  


Deadline for submissions: 1 April 2022  

Notifications: 15 May 2022 


Abstracts/paper should be submitted though the conference’s EasyChair page: 


Selected papers from the conference will be considered for included in an edited conference volume. Arrangements for this will be announced at a later stage. 


Programme Committee: Liam Bright, Roman Frigg, Laurenz Hudetz, Bryan Roberts, Lewis Ross, Johanna Thoma, Kate Vredenburgh, John Worrall (chair) 


Organising Committee: Jason Alexander, Roman Frigg (chair), Laurenz Hudetz, Miklos Redei, Bryan Roberts, John Worrall 


The conference organisers can be reached at